- Interlibrary Loan
- Library Calendar
-
Off CampusLogin
Log in to the Library's remote access system using your MyID account.
Log in to the Library's remote access system using your MyID account.
The Search Builder lets users search for terms in specific fields opposed to letting PubMed search for terms in all searchable fields. Searchable fields include author, journal name, MeSH, title/abstract, and more. Use the Advanced Search Builder to search specific fields.
Click on a step to view a screenshot.
Search field tags let users search for terms in specific fields by tagging the terms with codes enclosed in square brackets. In the example below, the tag identifies the Title/Abstract field; PubMed will only search for the term (radiotherapy) in the title and abstract of a citation's record. A complete list of Search Field Tags is available from PubMed's User Guide.
Example: radiotherapy[tiab].
PubMed uses a controlled vocabulary, known as MeSH (Medical Subject Headings), to describe the subject(s) of its articles. This vocabulary standardizes the language used to describe biomedical concepts and facilitates searching. It is arranged hierarchically by subject categories with more specific terms nested beneath broader terms. Currently, there are ~30,000 MeSH terms; it is updated annually to reflect changes in Medicine or medical terminology.
Searching by subject heading targets the literature where the MeSH term is an assigned subject of the publication. MeSH terms can be discovered and selected from the MeSH Database or from a citation's Abstract page. In the MeSH database, each subject heading includes a short definition, a list of synonyms, and its hierarchical structure.
Click on a step to view a screenshot.
Subheadings are attached to MeSH headings to describe specific aspects of the subject. Users can select subheadings ranging from Adverse Effects to Therapy. Follow the steps outlined above to apply subheadings to a search using MeSH.
As mentioned above, MeSH headings are arranged hierarchically by subject categories with more specific headings nested beneath broader headings. When a search is conducted using MeSH headings, the narrower headings are automatically included in the search, unless the user selects the "Do not include MeSH terms found below this term in the MeSH hierarchy". Furthermore, users can choose to restrict the search to citations where the selected MeSH heading is one of the main topics discussed in an article; select "Restrict to MeSH Major Topic".
PubMed provides access to citations from tens of thousands of journals. Use the Advanced Search Builder to find a particular journal. Keep in mind, not ALL journals are indexed for PubMed. If you are not able to find a journal, check its indexing status in the NLM Catalog.
Click on a step to view a screenshot.
After completing the steps outlined above, add search terms to the search box to search the journal for citations on a given topic, or add an author's name to search the journal for citations by a given author. Alternatively, users can consult the NLM Catalog to build a search for citations in a journal.
Click on a step to view a screenshot.
Information coming soon.
PubMed generates a list of similar articles for a selected citation. Similarity is measured by the words citations have in common among the title, abstract, and subject headings. A snapshot of this list is displayed on a citation's Abstract page. A complete list of similar articles can be viewed by selecting the "See all similar articles" link.
PubMed generates a list of articles cited by a selected citation. This list does not represent a complete citation count. It is limited to PubMed citations citing the article at hand. A snapshot of this list is displayed on a citation's Abstract page. A complete list of articles citing a selected citation can be viewed by selecting the "See all 'Cited by' articles" link.
Special queries are constructed using predefined filters. These filters limit retrieval to citations about a given topic or study type. The Clinical Queries feature lets users limit a search to COVID-19 articles, Medical Genetics, and Clinical Study types. Study types include Therapy, Diagnosis, Etiology, Prognosis, and Clinical Prediction Guidelines. A directory of additional topic-specific queries, including Cancer, is also available.
Boolean operators represent a system of computing logic and let users control a database's performance. Basic operators include AND, OR, and NOT. Use Boolean operators to combine search terms for the most effectual search.
| Operator | Effect | Example | Results |
| *AND | Retrieves records where ALL terms are present | ginger AND nausea | Each result includes the terms ginger and nausea. |
| OR | Retrieves records where EITHER term is present | ginger AND (nausea OR vomiting) | Each result includes either ginger and nausea, ginger and vomiting, and/or ginger and nausea and vomiting. |
| NOT | Retrieves records where NONE of the terms are present | ginger AND nausea NOT pregnancy | Each result includes the terms ginger and nausea, but does not include the term pregnancy. |
*PubMed automatically uses the AND operator when the user does not use any operators.
