Historical Resources Center: Archives: Archival Collections

The Director’s Office Records consist of 4,384 cards of microfiche, which include correspondence, memoranda, copies of founding documents, financial records, forms, reports, organization charts, building plans, copies of printed materials, and notes. The materials in this subgroup span the years 1941-1975, with the bulk of records falling between 1946-1972. They reflect the growth and development of the various departments at M. D. Anderson, from the earliest years, as well as fundraising efforts, the educational programs at the institution, nursing, and work in cancer research. The records also contain information also about the growth of the Texas Medical Center and Dr. Clark’s involvement in building professional medical organizations and meetings around the world devoted to eradicating cancer.

The documents and items from the Children's Art Project have been donated to the Research Medical Library's Historrical Resources Center and are located within the archive stacks. Administrative, sales and marketing materials, internal and external communications, and artwork products are included in this collection. Some materials contain sensitive health information and/or private institutional information, which should be restricted from review by others.

The Gilbert H. Fletcher Society Records provide an overview of the history of the Society from 1977-2011, including its purpose of offering continuing medical education and presenting emerging radiation oncology research, its management throughout the tenures of various administrators, and the locations of many of its annual meetings. The collection comprises three boxes of documents: one of primarily financial documents and two of mostly annual meeting planning documents.

The Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids (SEEKS) Records Collection is five boxes of the organization’s internal records, ordered mainly chronologically and covering the period 1992-1995. The items in this collection are related to planning and coordinating SEEKS activities.

The documents from Women Faculty and Administrators Organization (WFAO) have been donated to the RML’s Historical Resources Center and are located within the archive stacks. Some of the documents are Confidential, containing personnel information and social security numbers, which should be restricted from review by others. This is a small collection presently comprising only 9 archival boxes (approximately 6 linear feet of shelf space). The type of file used to organize the documents is not uniform or neatly ordered.

The collections consists mainly of over 200 of Howard Earle Skipper’s “Skipper’s Booklets” published by the Southern Research Institute from 1974 to 1989. Other materials in the collection include other manuscripts, research articles, publications, and correspondence collected by James Arly Nelson Nelson from 1962-1993.

The Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection consists of two boxes of chronologically ordered documents about the history of the Rotary House from 1958-2006, as well as a commemorative paperweight from the grand opening of the hotel.