Skip to Main Content

EndNote 20

A guide to using EndNote 20

Import Options

Notes on Import Options

Import options are methods of bringing references into EndNote. Numerous options are available, but this Guide focuses on the most commonly used options: direct export, file import, and manual entry. Most of these options let users automatically add references to a library.

  • Users can import an unlimited number of references, although EndNote recommends not exceeding 100,000 per library
  • References can be organized into various Groups after import (see Organize References)
  • Acceptable file import types include: .PDF, .Refer/BibIX, .RIS, and Tab Delimited

Add References

Import References from a Database

Most databases include citation export tools that let users export citations from a database to a citation manager, like EndNote. These tools operate in a similar fashion from database to database. Steps for importing references from PubMed to EndNote are outlined here.

 

How-to

  1. Perform a search in PubMed

  2. Select citations of interest by ticking the box next to the citation's title

  3. Send to button > Citation Manager > Create file

  4. Open the file using the EndNote desktop application 

  5. References auto-import into EndNote; references are placed in a group labeled "Imported References" 

Points & Help

Importing References From a PDF File

This import option extracts key data from the file, matches it against database content, and uses this information to create new EndNote records (i.e., references). This option only supports certain file types. Steps for importing a PDF file are outlined here.

How-to

  1. File menu > Import >  File...

    • Choose button > Find and select file

    • Import Option field: PDF

    • Duplicates field: Discard Duplicates

  2. Import button 

  3. EndNote will create the reference and attach the file to it. A file attachment is indicated by a paperclip icon.

Points & Help

  • In the case of PDF files, EndNote extracts the *DOI from the file and matches it against data from www.crossref.org

  • In some cases, data is missing from references created by this import option. In these cases, EndNote cannot identify the DOI. This may occur if the PDF file is a scanned image or the DOI is not tagged correctly by the publisher. You can manually add missing data to these references or find updates online (see Edit & Update References).

  • *DOI Foundation: What is a DOI?

  • File attachments sync to the EndNote Online account

  • EndNote Support: Troubleshooting PDF imports

Citation Finder 

The Citation Finder tool creates an RIS file of plain-text references (not formatted using a citation manager) for import into EndNote. 

How-to

  1. Go to: https://citation-finder.vercel.app/  

  2. Paste citations into the finder box (enter each citation on a new line)

  3. Select RIS (EndNote, etc.)

  4. Search button 

  5. Review results > Select the correct match for each citation

  6. Download button 

  7. Open file > Citations will import into EndNote

Adding References by Manual Entry

Users can create a reference for a resource using its bibliographic data. Bibliographic data describes a resource and can usually be found on the first page of a journal article or the Copyright page of a book. The location of this information for other formats varies. 

How-to

  1. Reference menu > New Reference

  2. Select the appropriate reference type from the drop-down menu at the top of the window

  3. Enter data into each field

  4. File menu > Save button

Points & Help
Subjects: EndNote