Skip to main content

Historical Resources Center: Archives: Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids Records, 1992-1995

Finding Aid

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

Descriptive Summary

Administrative History

Scope and Content Note

Restrictions

Index Terms

Related Material

Administrative Information

Detailed Description of the Records

Inventory


Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids Records, 1992-1995

 


   

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Historical Resources Center, Research Medical Library,The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
Creator: Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids
Title: Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids Records
Dates: 1992-1995
Extent: 2 linear feet, 5 boxes
Abstract The Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids (SEEKS) Records Collection is five boxes of the organization’s internal records, ordered mainly chronologically and covering the period 1992-1995. The items in this collection are related to planning and coordinating SEEKS activities.
Language: Materials are written in English.

Administrative History

Founded in 1992 and originally known as Team Anderson, Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids (SEEKS) was an organization at the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center aimed at encouraging primarily economically disadvantaged, school-aged children to take an interest in science and health-oriented education and careers. It began as a group of volunteers consisting of M. D. Anderson faculty, administrators, and their spouses, led by Elizabeth Travis, Ph.D. SEEKS collaborated with Houston Independent School District (HISD) for wellness promotion events at local schools and sponsored area youth in their pursuit of educational and leadership opportunities in healthcare and scientific fields. Additionally, the organization adopted several local middle schools to assist in purchasing school supplies, books, and science equipment. SEEKS held fundraising events, such as their “Back to the Future” party, to support its educational goals.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Content Note

The SEEKS Records Collection is five boxes of the organization’s internal records, ordered mainly chronologically and covering the period 1992-1995. The items in this collection are related to planning and coordinating SEEKS activities. They include event photos; slides; budgets and expense reports; Team “A” and SEEKS letterhead; correspondence related to various programs and initiatives pursued by Team Anderson/SEEKS, such as the Adopt-A-School program, Back to the Future social event, Team Anderson Roundup, and Team A Chef’s “Shoot-Out” fundraiser; steering committee meeting agendas; member and volunteer lists; event announcements; articles about school partnerships from various publications, such as National Network for Health Science Partnerships News, The Houston Chronicle, VIPS Voice, The Scientist, and Sigma Xi News (Rice TMC Chapter); HISD science curricula planning guides; schedules and pamphlets for “Check It Out” breast cancer education programs at local high schools; and other documents.

The collection provides researchers with an idea of SEEKS’ educational goals, fundraising activities, and day-to-day management, as well as an impression of health science education in economically disadvantaged schools in HISD during the period.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

Some of the documents are confidential, containing personnel and financial information, which should be restricted from review by others. Please see archivist for details.

Restrictions on Use

All requests for copying of materials must be submitted to the Historical Resources Center in writing for approval. All reproductions will be handled by HRC staff

Authorization to publish, quote, or reproduce must be obtained in writing by the Historical Resources Center

Return to the Table of Contents


Related Material

The materials in this collection were originally part of the Women Faculty and Administrators Organization (WFAO) Records from the period when Dr. Elizabeth Travis was the WFAO Chair, but were removed because they pertain specifically to SEEKS. The SEEKS Records collection retains the original accession order in which they were obtained as part of the WFAO Records.

Return to the Table of Contents


Index Terms

Subjects (Persons)

Elizabeth Travis, Ph.D.
Joyce Ahearn
Larry Massey
Madelyn von Eschenbach
Stephen Tomasovic, Ph.D.

Subjects (Organizations)

Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids
Team Anderson
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center

Subjects

Education, Nonprofessional
Health Education
Schools
Students

Return to the Table of Contents


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Supporting Educational Excellence for Kids Records, 1992-1995, Research Medical Library, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Processing Information

Return to the Table of Contents


Detailed Description of the Records

                       
Inventory
Box Folder
1 1 Thank you banner from school, 1993
  2 Team Anderson correspondence, flyers,slides re school programs, undated
  3 Budget 1993-94, 1993-1994 [Restricted]
  4 Team Anderson Budget - 1992, 1992 [Restricted]
  5 Team A, 1995 [Restricted]
  6 Fin. Statements, 1994-1995 [Restricted]
  7 1995, 1994-1995 [Restricted]
  8 letterhead, 1993
  9 Press, 1993-1994
  10 Correspondence re Science Education Partnership Award; newsletters, 1993-1994
Box Folder
2 11 Team Anderson - Lists, 1992-1994 [Restricted]
  12 Steering Committee, 1992-1994
  13 Events 1993, 1993-1994
  14 Schools Committee, 1992-1994
  15 Attucks Program, 1994 [Restricted]
Box Folder
3 16 Cullen, 1993
  17 Hartman, 1992-1994
  18 Catalogs, correspondence, invitations re middle school projects';curriculum, planning guides for middle school science, 1992
  19 Organization, 1992-1993
  20 Team Anderson slides, undated
  21 Check It Out; M.D. Anderson, HISD, Hadassah, 1992-1993
Box Folder
4 22 Hadassah, 1993
  23 Outreach, 1992-1993
  24 Committee Meetings (TA) 1993, 1992-1993
  25 Communities in Schools Program, 1992
  26 Model Science Lab Project, 1992
  27 GSBS, 1992
  28 Misc. Programs, 1992-1993
  29 Steering Committee, 1993 [Restricted]
  30 Event Committee, 1993
  31 Committee Event, 1993
  32 Volunteer Responses, 1991 [Restricted]
  33 Lists, 1992 [Restricted]
  34 Agenda, 1992
  35 Announcement, 1992
  36 Budget, 1992 [Restricted]
  37 TMC Conference Center Lease Agreement, 1993
  38 Menu, 1992
  39 Restaurants, 1992
  40 Contacts, Donations, 1992 [Restricted]
Box Folder
5 41 Homecoming Committee, 1992
  42 Correspondence re sponsored events of Team Anderson, 1992
  43 Correspondence, 1992-1993
  44 Fax Sheets, undated
  45 Event Attendees/Response, 1992 [Restricted]
  46 Map of TMC Conference Center; committee member names; correspondence and articles re helping children, 1992-1993
  47 Adopt-A-School, 1993
  48 Overview Statement, undated
  49 Combined Admin. Staff Meeting, 1992
  50 Publications, 1992
  51 Guest Invitations, 1992 [Restricted]
  52 Notes, reports, correspondence re Team A; copies of attendee checks, 1992 [Restricted]
  53 Task Time Frame, 1992