Research Guides: Drugs and Pharmacology Online Resources: Databases

Frequently Used Databases & Websites

CenterWatch Drug Information This link opens in a new window Search by therapeutic area for drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for sale in the United States. CenterWatch also includes FDA approved drugs by year
Clinical Pharmacology Online This link opens in a new window Clinical Pharmacology is a drug compendium that includes biologics for cancer patients. Each drug has a peer-reviewed monograph that contains dosages, contraindications, administration, interactions, full color product and package images, and more. A unique feature of Clinical Pharmacology is the coverage of hard-to-find herbal, nutritional and OTC products. The Drug IDentifier will help you accurately identify unknown tablets and capsules.
Dynamed This link opens in a new window Dynamed provides evidence-based content written by physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis to help clinicians in their daily practice.
Embase This link opens in a new window 1947 - present. EMBASE is an international biomedical and pharmacological database that provides access to up-to-date information about medical and drug-related subjects. Comprehensive inclusion of drug-related information makes EMBASE particularly valuable when carrying out drug-related searches. EMBASE features comprehensive coverage of drug research, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), basic biological research, Health Policy and Management, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Veterinary Science and Biomedical Engineering and Instrumentation.
LexiDrug This link opens in a new window LexiDrug is a collection of clinical drug databases which includes AHFS Essentials & AHFS DI, Lexi Drugs, Pediatric and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs and more. Also included is a clinical decision support toolbar complete with tools for drug interactions, identification, calculators and more.
Medline Ovid This link opens in a new window 1946 to Present. Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,400 journals published world-wide. Corresponds in part to the following print indexes: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing.
Merative Micromedex This link opens in a new window Search evidence-based summaries and detailed monographs for drugs, disease, alternative medicine, toxicological managements, reproductive risks, and emergency care. Includes national guidelines, Confused Drug names, Crush Guide, and RedBook Online for Drug Pricing.
Natural Medicines (NatMed Pro) This link opens in a new window Formerly Natural Standard provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition. Users must create a login to earn CE credits.
Sanford Guide This link opens in a new window From the Publisher: Sanford Guide has been a leader in point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases. Content can be accessed through iPhone, iPad, Android devices, on the web. Widely used by pharmacists, physicians, physician assistants, and nurses, Sanford Guide improves patient care by providing carefully curated recommendations based on the latest evidence.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a citation and abstract database containing peer-reviewed literature, with over 46 million records and 4.8 million conference papers from proceedings and journals. It covers the medical, scientific, technical and social sciences fields. It includes 100% coverage of Medline, 100% coverage of Embase and interoperability with Reaxys.

Tips for Searching & Citing

How to Cite in EndNote...

Searching Tips & Tricks for...

Ask an Expert

Drugs and Pharmacology Online Resources

Frequently Used Databases & Websites

Tips for Searching & Citing