Skip to main content

Historical Resources Center: Videos: Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection, 1959-2009

Finding Aid

TABLE OF CONTENTS

 

Descriptive Summary

Administrative History

Scope and Content Note

Restrictions

Index Terms

Administrative Information

Detailed Description of the Records

 

 


Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection, 1959-2009

 


   

Descriptive Summary

Repository: Historical Resources Center, Research Medical Library,The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
Creator: Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Title: Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection,
Dates: 1958-2009
Extent: 2 boxes (10 linear inches)
Abstract The Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection consists of two boxes of chronologically ordered documents about the history of the Rotary House from 1958-2006, as well as a commemorative paperweight from the grand opening of the hotel. The documents are primarily correspondence among leaders of M. D. Anderson, such as Dr. R. Lee Clark, and leaders of the Rotary Club of Houston, including Jack R. Cunningham and Bill T. Teague, and news articles tracking the progress of the hotel project.
Collection ID: HRC
Language: Materials are written in English.

Administrative History

The idea for a hotel in the Texas Medical Center especially for M. D. Anderson patients was first discussed in 1958 by Dr. R. Lee Clark, the Director of M. D. Anderson at the time. The following year, M. D. Anderson acquired an apartment building called the Mayfair and began using it to house non-Houstonian outpatients being treated at the Cancer Center. However, it was not until the late 1960s when the apartments were converted into the Anderson Mayfair Hotel. During the same period, the Rotary Club of Houston obtained several apartments in the Texas Medical Center Area to house Rotarians being treated at MD Anderson.

As MD Anderson grew, so did the need for nearby outpatient and family accommodations. Realizing this need, the Rotary Club of Houston and its president from 1966-1967, Jack R. Cunningham, initiated a project to build a Rotary International House in the Texas Medical Center. During the 1970s and 1980s, the Rotary Club of Houston, in cooperation with MD Anderson, planned and raised funds for the hotel project. It was planned to be located at the corner of Holcombe Blvd. and Braeswood Blvd, which at the time was occupied by several businesses and the Anderson Mayfair Hotel. The Anderson Mayfair was closed in late 1990 and demolished in 1991 to make way for the new Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International.

The Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International (Rotary House), named for Jesse H. Jones, a Houston native who was the United States Secretary of Commerce from 1940-1945, is a 322-room hotel and conference center serving patients of the University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center and their families. Managed by Marriott International, it opened on February 14, 1993 with 198 rooms and a skywalk connecting it to the Cancer Center. It currently provides patients and their families with Patient Guest Relations, which are liaison services between M. D. Anderson clinical care and patients staying at the Rotary House, as well as more common hotel amenities like a gift shop, a pool, and a restaurant.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Content Note

The Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection consists of two boxes of chronologically ordered documents about the history of the Rotary House from 1958-2006, as well as a commemorative paperweight from the grand opening of the hotel. The documents are primarily correspondence among leaders of M. D. Anderson, such as Dr. R. Lee Clark, and leaders of the Rotary Club of Houston, including Jack R. Cunningham and Bill T. Teague, and news articles tracking the progress of the hotel project. The collection shows the history and development of the project to build a hotel for M. D. Anderson outpatients and their families.

The Rotary House collection is organized into folders by decades, with the bulk of the collection being documents from the planning phase of the Rotary House project during the 1970s. Correspondence in the collection includes letters from Dr. R. Lee Clark to other important contributors to the hotel project, internal M. D. Anderson and Rotary Club of Houston memos addressing the project’s progress, and drafts of proposals for the hotel at various stages of the project. News articles in the collection come mainly from the Houston Chronicle, the Rotarian, and Conquest. The articles cover the growth of the Texas Medical Center beginning in 1958, the closing and demolition of the Anderson Mayfair Hotel, the planning and building of the Rotary House, and the achievements of the Rotary House from its opening to 2006.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Restrictions on Use

All requests for copying of materials must be submitted to the Historical Resources Center in writing for approval. All reproductions will be handled by HRC staff

Authorization to publish, quote, or reproduce must be obtained in writing by the Historical Resources Center

Return to the Table of Contents


Index Terms

Subjects (Persons)

B. J. Randolph
Bill T. Teague
Jack R. Cunningham
Jesse H. Jones
R. Lee Clark, M.D.

Subjects (Organizations)

Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Rotary Club of Houston
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center

Subjects

Cancer Care Facilities
Outpatients
Patients

Return to the Table of Contents


Administrative Information

 

Preferred Citation

Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Collection, 1958-2009, Research Medical Library, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center.

Processing Information

Collection Processed by Janna Talbert, University of North Texas Intern, Spring 2013

Return to the Table of Contents

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS


Descriptive Summary

Administrative History

Scope and Content Note

Restrictions

Index Terms

Related Material

Administrative Information

Detailed Description of the Records

Detailed Description of the Records

Box Folder
1 1 Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International paperweight, 1993
2 Letter from B.J. Randolph, Indexes 1958-1999, 9/30/2009
Box Folder
2 1 1950s, 1958-1959
Houston Post article "Sheraton Decision Here Is Delayed": Officials Say Chain Will Wait Until 3 Other Hotels Finish 5/25/1958
Patient Hotel Project: A conference held on January 3, 1959 proposed building a hotel for patients, referenced in an article in Uptown Houston" 1/3/1959
Box Folder
2 2 1960s, 1960-1963
Houston Post article "Medical Center Construction Largest Boom in its History" 7/16/1960
Houston Chronicle article "American General Insurance Co. Looking for Sites" 9/25/1960
Letter to Mr. Gus S. Wortham, President, American General Insurance Company: Dr. R. Lee Clark acknowledges the announcement of the proposed building program as seen in Sunday's Chronicle 9/28/1960
Letter to Mr. S. Richard Harris, Courts & Company, regarding proposed development of The Medical Concourse that includes costs 1/18/1961
Letter to Mr. Boyd, from Dr. R. Lee Clark regarding estimate of overnight visitors staying at medical towers, converting two floors: Dental school/50 nights per year; Baylor/200 nights per year 7/12/1961
Letter to Dr. R. Lee Clark, from Frederick C. Elliot, Exec. Dir., Texas Medical Center, stating future housing facility needs for visitors to M. D. Anderson Hospital and Tumor Institute, citing projected visitors for 1960-1961 8/29/1961
Pictures of Warwick Hotel sent to Dr. Eastwood per Dr. Robert C. Hickey 6/18/1963
Box Folder
2 3 1970s, 1 of 4, 1970-1972
NCR: accountant's communique article called "Lowering the Cost of Recuperative Care!" 6/1/1970
Memo to the File: From Robert C. Hickey, MD in regard to Rotary International House, Houston. It states the Rotary Club of Houston Foundation is interested in proposing the establishment of a housing center for patients, students, and faculty, near the Texas Medical Center 6/11/1970
Letter to Mr. D.F. Lichtenauer, Shell Oil Co., from Dr. R. Lee Clark emphasizing need for adjacent land, owned by Shell, to the Texas Medical Center for an international house proposed by Rotary Club of Houston Foundation 7/17/1970
Memo from Mr. O.J. Anderson, President of Rotary Club, to officers and directors of the Foundation encouraging the members to assist in developing a complex to care for patients in the Texas Medical Center to alleviate pressure and overcrowdedness at TMC 7/27/1970
Letter to Dr. R. Lee Clark, from Shell Oil Co. Vice President C. L. Towers availing himself to talk with Dr. Clark about the Shell owned land Dr. Clark is interested in buying. He stated Mr. Lichtenauer has kept him informed 10/7/1970
Interoffice Memo from Robert C. Hickey, M.D. to the file about a meeting with O.J. Anderson, Rotary Club of Houston, Mr. Gene Werland, Architect, with Drs. Clark and Hickey and Mr. Joe Boyd about a site plan on the property at Holcombe Blvd. and Braeswood for 500 rooms and a general drawing within 30 days. At the time the property desired was occupied by a Shell Station and Mr. Steak Restaurant 10/20/1970
Memo to Mrs. Jane Bradenberger, Public Information Coordinator from Joseph Kunec, Development Office regarding Dr. R. lee Clark's assignment regarding the Rotary - Medical Center International House Project. A comprised list of understandings and thoughts of their roles in the "promotion" of the concept of a Rotary - Medical Center International House for Houston 10/21/1970
Memo to the file: Minutes of meeting held October 17, 1970. Discussions were about acquiring "Shell Station" property, owned by Shell Oil Company and the property on which stands "'Mr. Steak" for use in building International House 10/23/1970
Letter to Mr. C.L. Towers, Vice President, Shell Oil Company from Dr. R. Lee Clark, about the Shell owned property at Holcombe Blvd. and Braeswood, location of the Shell Service Station 12/8/1970
Memo to the file for Minutes of meeting held December 15, 1970: the subject was status of Rotary - Medical Center International House Project. Also discussed was a possible plan for acquiring land at Greenbriar and Southwest Freeway. Mr. Werlin will have completed by end of December a rendering of the proposed building. Present were: Dr. R. lee Clark, Dr. Murray M. Copeland, O.J. Anderson, and the writer of the Memo, Joseph L. Kunec 12/15/1970
Memo to Dr. R. lee Clark, President, from Joseph L. Kunec, Assistant for for Development. Attached is a resume (Minutes) of 12-15-70 meeting about Rotary International House at the Texas Medical Center 12/16/1970
Letter from Dr. M.M. Copeland to Mr. O.J. Anderson suggesting MD Anderson staff members to be included in the January 11 luncheon sponsored by Rotary Club 1/5/1971
Letter to Dr. Clark from BJ 1/8/1971
Presentation of proposal for Rotary -Texas Medical Center International House project to RCH Foundation: Letter discussing the extent of need for a patient and family hotel in the Texas Medical Center area. Outline of Points to be discussed at the meeting 1-11-71 1/11/1971
Letter to Dr. Copeland, in regards to a proposal request: Rotary - Texas Medical Center International House 1/12/1971
File Note: In regards to the ordering of binders for Rotary Presentation 1/19/1971
Progress Report: Feasibility study for Mr. Benjamin Clayton, prepared by Mr. Joseph L Kunec 2/2/1971
Rotary Club of Houston Foundation Texas Medical Center International House were asked to answer a survey regarding the Feasibility Study for the previous calendar year 1971 1/1/1972
Notes of special joint projects meeting with heads of TMC institutions. It was decided at this meeting that other TMC projects had higher priority than the Rotary International House at the time 2/25/1972
Letter from Dr. Eastwood to Mr. O. J. Andersen is regarding the proposed Rotary International House to be located in or near the Texas Medical Center. Dr. Eastwood did not find a high level of priority for the proposed Rotary International House and certain developments during the past few months have also tended to limit the need for the proposed International House 4/27/1972
Box Folder
2 4 1970s, 2 of 4, 1977
Invitation to past presidents of Rotary Club of Houston Foundation to attend a meeting to discuss the future of an International House 7/7/1977
List of Recipients of the Rotary Club of Houston - Distinguished Citizen's Award" Interoffice Memo to Mr. E. R. Gilley, From Arthur F. Kleifgen, regarding the Preliminary Guidelines for The Anderson Mayfair Expansion 7/15/1977
Minutes of July 21, 1977 for meeting with Rotary Club of Houston past presidents: The point, "this facility was needed for visitors to Texas Medical Center more than ever." Proposal: Rotary-Texas Medical Center International House. Proposal Presentation by Jack Cunningham included renderings by Eugene Werlin. Proposal: for an International House for Accommodations of Patients from 140 Countries with Rotary Clubs: Presented by Dr. R. Lee Clark Remarks: by Arthur F. Kleifgen at Dr. R. Lee Clark's meeting with Rotary President and Past Presidents 7/21/1977
The same letter from Jack P. Cunningham was sent personally to the following; O. J. Andersen, Harold Hook, Leon Jaworski, Rabbi Robert I. Kahn, O.H.I., D.O., William A. Kirkland, Henry M. Rockwell, E. H. Thornton, Jr.,. Regarding, the meeting held on July 21, 1977. In the letters, Cunningham attaches the Meeting Minutes and Proposals discussed. 8/16/1977
Letter from C. D. Tinsley, Chairman of the Board, International Golfing Fellowship of Rotary World Championships: to Mr. Jack P. Cunningham, regarding distributed proposals and brochures on Rotary-Texas Medical Center International House during executive committee meetings. List attached. 8/23/1977
Minutes from September 21, 1977 meeting sent by Dr. R. Lee Clark, emphasizing the financing of the Feasibility Study: Attached are invoices, receipts, etc. 9/21/1977
Rotary International House, contents consists of Feasibility Study Format, Planning Process Outline, and Planning Process Network, prepared by Eugene Werlin, with Golemon & Rolfe, Architects. 10/27/1977
Box Folder
2 5 1970s, 3 of 4, 1978
Minutes from the Rotary International House meeting that was held at the Warwick Club, El Morocco Room by Mr. Jack P. Cunningham. The purpose of this meeting was to discuss the proposed agreement between RCOH, the TMC, and UTSCC. 1/24/1978
Proposed Agreement between the UT System Cancer Center, TMC, and the Rotary Club of Houston 1/25/1978
Letter: to Dr. Jackson regarding Rotary International House: Jack Cunningham expressed to Dr. Jackson approval for him to appear before the Rotary Foundation to request funds for the Feasibility Study. Agreement: between UTSCCTMC, INC & RCH 2/9/1978
Letter to Mr. Jack Cunningham, in response to a request to designate a Representative for the Feasibility Study Team for the Rotary International House. 2/17/1978
Letter to Mr. Jack Cunningham, Dr. Clark requests for a signature on the attached Proposed Feasibility Study for the Rotary International House 3/9/1978
Letter to Dr. C.B. Jackson from Harry Golemon: Regarding, Rotary International House Planning Committee Meeting for the purpose of discussing and approving a plan to implement the feasibility study. 3/22/1978
A preliminary report of Feasibility Study for The Rotary International House, Prepared by Golemon & Rolfe, Architects 4/1/1978
Conference Notes prepared by Golemon & Rolfe, Architects. The Meeting took place March 30, 1978; it consisted of a general discussion of the Feasibility Study and the project, presentation of a schedule and discussion of specific tasks to be accomplished. 4/5/1978
Letter to Dr. R. Lee Clark from Mr. C. D. Tinsley: Regarding, the friendly care a friend received while visiting the Anderson Mayfair housing facility 4/11/1978
Summary of the Rotary House International Meeting that took place June 22, 1978. The purpose was to review in detail the requirements for units and square footage, program budget, and a preliminary report of feasibility study for the Rotary International House dated April 1978, a discussion was held of those items. 6/22/1978
Meeting at Offices of Goleman & Rolfe including Rotary Club of Houston members to review outline of program requirement and preliminary cost analysis for the Rotary International House 6/22/1978
Conference notes prepared by Golemon & Rolfe, Architects. The meeting took place June 22, 1978. The purpose was to review outline program requirements and preliminary cost analysis for the Rotary International House 6/29/1978
Article: The Rotarian, "The House with a Heart" 7/1/1978
Interoffice Memo: letter to Dr. R. lee Clark from Or. Frank Romanelli, concerning the Anderson Mayfair Room Occupancy limitations. 7/7/1978
Letter to Dr. C. B. Jackson from John S. Crane, Golemon & Rolfe, Architects: Regarding Project 7809, Rotary International House, the purpose was to discuss future goals and objectives 7/7/1978
Letter to Mr. Jack Cunningham, from Dr. R. Lee Clark; to discuss developing a plan for fundraising to fund the operation of The Rotary International House 7/19/1978
Memo: letter to John Bush, from Suzan Weaver 7/24/1978
Memo: letter from John S. Crane, Golemon & Rolfe, Architects to Jack P. Cunningham (cross reference to July 27, 1978 document) 8/9/1978
Conference Notes: prepared by Golemon & Rolfe, Architects. The meeting took place July 27, 1978. Purpose was to review information pertaining to Rotary International House Feasibility Study and details 8/9/1978
Memo: Regarding note to call Jack Cunningham about meeting scheduled for November 9th 8/14/1978
Conference notes prepared by Golemon & Rolfe, Architects. The purpose of this meeting was to review conceptual design for Rotary International House 8/24/1978
Memo: Info note for Dr. Clark regarding the reservation of the Anderson-Mayfair Sussex room for the November 9th luncheon 8/30/1978
Rotary International House Announcement regarding the November 9th luncheon meeting at the Anderson-Mayfair 8/31/1978
Conference notes prepared by Goleman & Rolfe, Architects. The purpose was to overlook the final concept review for feasibility study and attached are proposed architectural design. 8/31/1978
Conference notes prepared by Goleman & Rolfe, Architects. The purpose was to update committee on initial contacts with adjacent landowners 9/14/1978
Notes: At the Rotary House Foundation Board Meeting discussed was hotel room accommodations, groups, and future areas where action should be implemented 10/19/1978
Letter to Dr. C. B. Jackson from Elmer Faught, Jr. President, Rotary Club of Houston Foundation, Inc. concerning an invite to the November 9th luncheon to update feasibility study and relative findings to the proposed International House. Attached is the Attendee list for Rotary luncheon 11/1/1978
Box Folder
2 6 1970s, 4 of 4, 1979
Letter: to Dr. R. Lee Clark from Jack Cunningham's Executive Secretary, Carolyn Hooper sent attached the final report of the "Rotary International House" that was dated June 4, 1979. (This same report is cross referenced June 4, 1979) 1/9/1979
Aforementioned Final Report of the "Rotary International House" 6/4/1979
Luncheon Conference: Ernest Deal, Jack Cunningham, Charles LeMaistre and R. Lee Clark met concerning Rotary International House. Present status was reviewed, the feasibility study discussed need for immediate action in planning and implementation, including design and fund raising were agreed upon 6/5/1979
Memo for Dr. Eastwood from Office of the President Emeritus - a peripheral document to the document above dated 06-05-79 6/18/1979
Phone Call Message from Jack Cunningham wanting status upon his return from vacation. LeRoy Melcher was just elected President of the RCH. He called and left a message for Dr. LeMaistre. "Rotary is very interested in the planning of the International House; however know that MDA should take the lead" etc. 7/12/1979
Article: THE LOG Rotary Club of Houston September 6, 1979 noting "RCH can provide leadership in the international scene. The International House, a joint venture of Texas Medical center and the Rotary Club of Houston to serve medical needs of people of the world... " 9/6/1979
Box Folder
2 7 1980s, 1986-1988
Houston Chronicle: "Medical home-away-from-home donors will reign" etc. 1/30/1986
Houston Chronicle: "$4M gift caps drive for cancer facility". $4M donation by Houston Endowment Inc. capped the Rotary Club of Houston Foundation's $30M fund-raising drive to build a 15 story living facility for cancer patients and families in the TMC 9/16/1988
Houston Chronicle: Rotary plans facility with M. D. Anderson 9/23/1988
Box Folder
2 8 1990s, 1990-1999
Houston Chronicle: Mayfair mourning/Former residents say sad farewell to city's cancer hotel 8/2/1990
Houston Chronicle: "Lefevre still painting stars" and "party at poolside of Anderson-Mayfair Hotel at building closing"... 8/7/1990
Houston Chronicle: Remembering the Mayfair 8/11/1990
Houston Chronicle: Cancer Patients' housing 10/31/1990
Houston Chronicle: Going, Going, Gone 2/11/1991
Conquest: Former President R. lee Clark, patient, Jackie Carnicom join President Charles A. leMaistre look over plans for Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International under construction: Open House highlights 50th Anniversary; Under Cover skin cancer prevention program expands 6/1/1991
Houston Chronicle: Bush sculpture almost finished 6/17/1991
Houston Chronicle: Patient building ... completion expected end of '92 for the 198 room hotel at 1600 Holcombe Blvd. 1/30/1992
Conquest: On behalf of American Foundation for Children and Youth, Inc., Edgar B. Phillips, M. D. suggests how the Rotary Club of Houston Foundation might assist us in the implementation of our Dropout Prevention Program in the Houston area… 4/1/1992
Houston Chronicle: Rotary Club celebrates completion of outpatient facility for cancer care 1/13/1993
Houston Chronicle: Cancer patients find comfort, convenience in center's new hotel 2/15/1993
Conquest: Sheltering Hearts. "The Patient/Guest Relations staff welcomes guests at M. D. Anderson's Rotary House with a bouquet of programs to meet their non-medical needs." Fall 1993
Letter: To Ben F. Love, Consultant and Director, Texas Commerce Bankshares, Inc., from Bill T. Teague, Chairman, Distinguished Citizen Award Committee RCH 4/8/1994
Letter: To John Oren, Chairman RCH Foundation receives proposal from Super Summers, "Getting Ready for Life After High School..." 7/14/1994
Letter: To Margaret Blessman , RCH from Stephen H. Pouns, Beutel, Goodman Capital Management, "Second Qtr. Report 1994 for Rotary Club of Houston Foundation, Inc. 7/15/1994
Letter: To John Oren, President, RCH from Jim Herring, Certified Public Accountant, Rotary House International '"List of Pledges and Contributions, June 30,1994" 7/25/1994
Rotary Club of Houston Foundation, Inc. Board of Directions Meeting 9-8-94, it was resolved that the Rotary Club of Houston Foundation, Inc. remove from the list of pledges and contributions the following: ... (this document is attached to entry 7-25-94) 9/8/1994
Houston Chronicle: People in the News: Ramin Shoar names food and beverage director for Jesse H. Jones Rotary House... 7/16/1995
Houston Chronicle: Autumn is the time to fall out for gardening events; Texas Department of Agriculture is creating a Texas grown garden on the grounds of Anderson 's Jesse H. Jones Rotary House 10/28/1995
Houston Chronicle: Houston Golf Association's $120,000 donation promises to brighten season / $1000 to Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International 12/12/1995
Houston Chronicle: Sports Notebook / Correction of the Publication; "The Lombardi Trophy is on permanent display in the lobby of the Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International, 1600 Holcombe Blvd. 12/3/1996
Conquest: Happy Anniversary Rotary House 4/1/1997
Memo: Within Rotary Club of Houston Foundation announcement of Board of Directors Meeting January 6, 1998 / receiving applications for grants... 12/15/1997
Houston Chronicle: "One from the heart''... giant fifth anniversary card for Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International... 2/14/1998
Conquest: Rotary House Celebrates Fifth Anniversary Spring 1998
Rotary House Review: Rotary House celebrates 5th year 4/1/1998
Houston Chronicle: Professor to discuss meaning of wellness 4/5/1998
Houston Chronicle: Cancer - patient hotel to expand / UT System Regents OK $31M project for Rotary House 5/17/1998
Letter: To Jack Cunningham Sr. from E. H. Thornton, Jr. / Expansion of Rotary House, "The decision of the Board of Regents to expand the Rotary House confirms what we knew originally - that in a few years after the opening of Rotary House its capacity would have to be doubled. Your dream has reached full fruition. My congratulations!" 5/20/1998
Memo: Rotary Club of Houston announces Foundation Board of Directors meeting on July 7, 1998 7/15/1998
Houston Chronicle: 'Season' is here, and Houston is ready for a few good parties 9/6/1998
Houston Chronicle: Business brief; Houston & Texas M. D. Anderson will add 126 rooms 5/14/1999
Box Folder
2 9 2000s, 2000-2006
Houston Chronicle: Outpatient cancer facility approved 5/12/2000
Houston Chronicle: Social season offers dizzying array of good times for good causes 9/10/2000
Texas Medical Center News: M. D. Anderson's Rotary House a home away from home 9/1/2001
The Rotary Club of Houston Log: What Our Committees are Doing… Rotary House International Committee 9/12/2002
Texas Medical Center News: Rotary House Celebrates 10th Anniversary 3/15/2003
Rotary House Review: Rotary House International celebrates 13 years!! 2/1/2006
Employment Opportunities: Marriott Conference Center Hotel Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International 8/1/2006
Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International Conference Center Profile 10/23/2006