Skip to main content

EndNote X8: Editing an EndNote Output Style

Questions?

Need More Help with EndNote?

Selecting a Journal Style in EndNote

EndNote has more than 6,000 output styles available. Not all of the styles are loaded into EndNote. Here are the steps for selecting a journal output style in EndNote.

To Select a Journal Style in EndNote:

  1. Search for your style by selecting the style menu and choosing "Select Another Style".
  2. Click here to view screenshot of step 1

  3. If you do not see your style in the menu, you may have to download the style from the EndNote website.

Downloading a Style for your Library

To Download a Style for your Library:

  1. Go to endnote.com/downloads/styles. Search for your journal name and select Apply. When you find your journal name, click the Download button.
  2. Click here to view screenshot of step 1

  3. You will be prompted to open or save, choose open and the style template will open in your Endnote library.
  4.  In EndNote, go to file, save as and save the style as the journal name so you can find it again. You can then close the style template by using the small “x” in the upper right-hand corner.
  5. Click here to view screenshot of step 3

  6. Your style will not automatically appear in your Word document. In Word, go to your style menu and Select Another Style. Choose your style.
  7. Click here to view screenshot of step 4

     Video Instructions: https://youtu.be/lQJzPjpgAcE

Editing an EndNote Output Style

If you are unable to find the style in EndNote's Online Database, try searching your journals website under Author Guidelines. Sometimes they will include a style that you can download. If not, you may need to modify an existing style.

To Edit an EndNote Style:

Click here to view screenshot of step 2

  1. Most biomedical journals follow the AMA style so it's easiest to work from the JAMA template to modify a style. Start by selecting JAMA in EndNote. Do this by clicking on the Edit menu, and Select Another Style. Choose JAMA.
  2. In EndNote, go to Edit, Output Styles, Edit "JAMA".

The style template will open. You can make dozens of changes to a style but you should only need to make a few.

Video Instructions: https://youtu.be/8ZFPsTISW5k

Edit In-Text Citations

To Modify the In-Text Citations (these are the citations that appear within the text of your manuscript):

Superscript or Not?

  1. Click on Templates under Citations.
  2. Under Citation, your Bibliography Numbers are currently superscripted. To change this, you can highlight "Bibliography Number" and de-select the superscript button.
  3. Click here to view screenshot of steps 1 & 2

  4. If you don't need to make any other changes, go to File, Save As and name your style. You will have to select the style in EndNote and/or Word to see the changes.

Parentheses or Brackets?

  1. If your journal calls for parentheses or brackets around your bibliography numbers, add a set of parentheses or brackets around the word Bibliography Number.
  2. Click here to view screenshot of step 1

  3. If you don't need to make any other changes, go to File, Save As and name your style. You will have to select the style in EndNote and/or Word to see the changes.

Modify References in Your Bibliography

To Modify the References in your Bibliography:

  1. Select Templates under Bibliography.
  2. Click here to view screenshot of step 1

  3. There are many Reference Types listed. You will only need to modify those that will appear in your bibliography. This normally includes Journal Article, Book and Web Page.
  4. To modify a Reference. Select the line, (in this case we'll modify Journal Article). Edit the order and punctuation of the listed fields.
  5. Click here to view screenshot of step 3

  6. Use the tools at the top of template to add or removed Bolding, Italics, Underlines, etc.
  7. Click here to view screenshot of step 4

  8. To add another field, place your cursor whereever you need to add the field and select the Insert Field button in the upper right-hand corner. Choose the filed you would like to add. You may need to add additional spaces or punctuation after the field.
  9. If you don't need to make any other changes, go to File, Save As and name your style. You will have to select the style in EndNote and/or Word to see the changes.

Edit Author Names

To Modify Author Names & Order:

  1. Select Author Lists Under Bibliography.
  2. If your style wants you to list all author names, select List all author namesChange the number of authors required to appear by changing the number, If X or more authors, list the first X authors(3).
  3. Click here to view screenshot of steps 1 & 2

  4. To change the format of your author names, select Author Name. You can re-order the author names, change the capitalization of the names or the intials.
  5. If you don't need to make any other changes, go to File, Save As and name your style. You will have to select the style in EndNote and/or Word to see the changes.

Edit Your Bibliography Layout

To Change your Bibliography Layout:

  1. Select Layout under Bibliography.
  2. Change the spacing after your Bibliography Numbers by adding or removing spaces or tabs after the phrase Bibliography Number.
  3. Change your hanging indents by selecting Hanging Indent and choosing All Paragraphs.
  4. Click here to view screenshot of steps 1-3

  5. If you don't need to make any other changes, go to File, Save As and name your style. You will have to select the style in EndNote and/or Word to see the changes.