Skip to main content

Library Essentials for Administrative Assistants

PubMed

PubMed is recommended for finding abstracts and full-text articles.  

Webinars:

Using "My NCBI" to Set Automatic Updates for a Faculty Member

You can create an account within PubMed (called a MyNCBI Account) then create an Author Alert that allows you to receive email updates whenever new citations by your faculty member are added into PubMed.

What is a PMID & PMCID?

PubMed ID, is also known as the PubMed Identifier or the PMID, is a unique identifying number assigned to each PubMed citation. The PMID is located at the end of the PubMed citation.  The PMID is followed by a colon and number assigned to the citation.  

PubMed Central ID or PMCID is a number assigned to an article located in PubMed Central (PMC). PubMed Central is an affiliate of PubMed. In PubMed Central you can find free full-text archives of biomedical and life sciences journal articles. Not all abstracts will have PMCIDs, but all grant-funded publications must be uploaded by the publisher or author to PMC.  Click here to go to PubMed Central.  

The example below displays the PMID in red and the PMCID in green.

My Bibliography

You can ask your faculty member to set you up as their delegate. Doing so will grant you the ability to view and edit their My Bibliography collection via PubMed. 

My Bibliography provides a centralized place where citations are easily accessed, exported as a file, and made public to share with others.

A feature of interest to eRA Commons users, Award view, allows you to see whether their publications comply with the NIH Public Access Policy, to start the compliance process for journal articles, and to associate their publications to awards